Amsterdam – Part One

I’m sitting in an internet cafe near the red light district of Amsterdam. What an amazing, beautiful, energetic, weird, and gentle place this is. Walking down alleyways looking at prostitutes smiling blindly behind sheer window panes, then to come out on the bustling street with virgin white swans floating, bobbing in the canals of the city centre.

My trip began with so many pieces of me, my life,  falling away. The pearl from my goddess necklace fell on the ground of my cabin minutes before I walked out the door to head for Vancouver on Sunday.The bracelet I bought on Saltspring Island fell at my feet in the car to the ferry my first morning.  My watch stopped the next morning. The zipper on my wallet broke hours before I headed to the airport in Vancouver. My pen began to bleed incessantly on the train from Amsterdam airport to the city.

Pieces to leave behind, let go of. Time and the extras needing to be shed, perhaps, making room for something more, something else, new, unexpected.

I’m off to the airport for the final leg of my flight to Istanbul. More to come.

~ by Tess (Piyadassi) on December 8, 2009.

4 Responses to “Amsterdam – Part One”

  1. What a beautiful metaphor Tess!! I miss you already my friend.

    Love Jules xo

  2. Time(s) of transition hey Tess? Wasn’t one of the symbols that Atum spoke of was the snake shedding its skin? Enjoy your journey Tess. I look forward to your updates.

    ps.Cookie sales have halted since you left…I don’t know what I’m going to do. It just might be the end of my cookie career.

  3. pps Fatty!

  4. Let it all fall away, Tess. There’s so much more of the unexpected to come. I think about you and the wonderful adventure you’re on. I can’t wait to sit with you and hear your stories. Keep writing…it’s your calling.

Leave a Reply

 
